Countdown

I am currently 7 days post op and doing well. I want to recap the days before and after PAO surgery to bring this blog up to date.

April 6, 2014: 2 days pre-op. San Francisco, CA.  “Today’s weather is sunny with a high of 74. Tomorrow is a high of 71 and sunny. Tuesday calls for sunny skies and a high of 78.” A perfect day to venture out for my last hoorah to San Francisco. While touring the city by the bay with my PAO buddy, Jessica, I am filled with a mix of emotions. Taking in the sunshine, appreciating each step I walked, taking selfies, I knew my life would change dramatically in 2 days. There is no turning back. This shit is real. It felt like I am walking into a house on fire but I would come out o.k. By being active on the Facebook PAO support group, I have seen other hippies go through their countdown and go to the “other side” – the side of recovery.  Now its my turn. I am strangely calm. I am very introspective, and had little words.  I think I am processing this life changing event on a very deep, cellular level.  The final countdown began.  I keep reminding myself “I got this.”

Leave a Reply

